The Economic Community Of West African States (ECOWAS) is a
regional group of fifteen countries, founded in 1975. Its mission is
to promote economic integration in "all fields of
economic activity, particularly industry, transport,
telecommunications, energy, agriculture, natural resources,
commerce, monetary and financial questions, social and cultural
matters ....."
ECOWAS in Brief

The ECOWAS Commission and the ECOWAS Bank for Investment
and Development, more often called The Fund are its two main
institutions designed to implement policies, pursue a number of
programmes and carry out development projects in Member States.
Such projects include intra-community road construction and
telecommunications; and agricultural, energy and water resources
Created and maintained by the Community Computer Centre (CCC) in collaboration with the Department of Communication

Send comments to:
Copyright © ECOWAS 2012
Latest Update : August 24 2012
101, Yakubu Gowon Crescent, Asokoro District
P.M.B. 401 Abuja, Nigeria
Tel: (234) (9) 31 47 647-9, Fax : (234) (9) 31 43 005, 31 47 646
By Article 6 of the Revised Treaty, the Institutions of the Economic Community Of West African States
(ECOWAS) are as follows:

The Commission
The Conference of Heads of State and Government
The Council of Ministers
The Executive Secretariat
The Community Parliament
The Economic and Social Council (to be created)
The Community Court of Justice
The West African Health Organisations (WAHO)
ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development (EBID)
ECOWAS Regional Development Fund (ERDF)
ECOWAS Regional Investment Bank (ERIB)
West African Monetary Agency (WAMA)
West African Monetary Institute (WAMI)
Specialized Technical Commissions
ECOWAS Court of International Arbitration
ECO - ECOWAS e-Press Agency

and any other Institutions that may be established by the Authority
Economic Community Of West African States
Discover ECOWAS